WWW Wednesday 10th August 2022

Hello all! Today was a very, very tiring day and a slightly sad one, too, but I feel like I owe all of you an update! Now that I’m actually kind of reading again!

WWW Wednesday is a meme hosted by Taking On A World Of Books (previously hosted by A Daily Rhythm). If you decide to join in just answer these three questions: What are you reading now? What did you read recently? What will you read next? And then comment and leave a link to your post there. Then you can go and check out what everyone else is reading!


Gearbreakers by Zoe Hana Mikuta

Two girls on opposite sides of a war discover they’re fighting for a common purpose–and falling for each other–in Zoe Hana Mikuta’s high-octane debut Gearbreakers, perfect for fans of Pacific Rim, Pierce Brown’s Red Rising Saga, and Marie Lu’s Legend series.

We went past praying to deities and started to build them instead...

The shadow of Godolia’s tyrannical rule is spreading, aided by their giant mechanized weapons known as Windups. War and oppression are everyday constants for the people of the Badlands, who live under the thumb of their cruel Godolia overlords.

Eris Shindanai is a Gearbreaker, a brash young rebel who specializes in taking down Windups from the inside. When one of her missions goes awry and she finds herself in a Godolia prison, Eris meets Sona Steelcrest, a cybernetically enhanced Windup pilot. At first Eris sees Sona as her mortal enemy, but Sona has a secret: She has intentionally infiltrated the Windup program to destroy Godolia from within.

As the clock ticks down to their deadliest mission yet, a direct attack to end Godolia’s reign once and for all, Eris and Sona grow closer–as comrades, friends, and perhaps something more…

Not gonna lie: this is the first time I’ve been so solidly mistaken about whether I’d love a book or not. It kind of reads like a caricature of some of my favourite tropes at times (like found family: we sometimes get stated details but never any real reason to care about these characters), and at other times the author just executes something way too quickly (the enemies part in enemies to friends to lovers was done with in about 2 minutes).

King Lear by Shakespeare

Shakespeare’s bleak and brutal tragedy begins when an ageing king, seeking a successor, rejects the young daughter who loves him and misplaces his trust in her malevolent sisters. In return they strip him of his power and condemn him to a wretched wasteland of horror and insanity. Set in a pitiless universe, King Lear is a towering, elemental masterpiece of fierce poetry and vast imaginative scope.

This is the dullest Shakespeare play I’ve experienced. I’m kind of struggling with this one.

Recently Read:

Everything I Never Told You by Celeste Ng

Lydia is dead. But they don’t know this yet.

So begins this exquisite novel about a Chinese American family living in 1970s small-town Ohio. Lydia is the favorite child of Marilyn and James Lee, and her parents are determined that she will fulfill the dreams they were unable to pursue. But when Lydia’s body is found in the local lake, the delicate balancing act that has been keeping the Lee family together is destroyed, tumbling them into chaos.

A profoundly moving story of family, secrets, and longing, Everything I Never Told You is both a gripping page-turner and a sensitive family portrait, uncovering the ways in which mothers and daughters, fathers and sons, and husbands and wives struggle, all their lives, to understand one another.

Rating: 4.5 out of 5.

All the issues I had with Little Fires Everywhere where absent here. Absolutely magnificent.

Reading Next:

Well, I have to read An Experiment With An Air Pump and Emily Dickinson’s Selected Poems for a thing. For myself, I really want to reread the All For The Game trilogy. I should, however, read some of the ARCs I have. I read Gearbreakers to be able to read Godslayers because I’d been so sure I’d love the series that I requested the second book before reading the first. So, don’t do that, y’all.


That’s all I have right now!

Take care!

2 thoughts on “WWW Wednesday 10th August 2022

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Create a website or blog at WordPress.com

Up ↑

Create your website with WordPress.com
Get started
%d bloggers like this: